Home / Book Reviews / Review: House of Mirrors by S. Israel
SPR AWARDS 2016 OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS!

Review: House of Mirrors by S. Israel

House of Mirrors CoverHouse of Mirrors is an erotic novel telling the tale of Linda, a young girl with no sexual knowledge who is abducted when she shares a cab with a stranger – then wakes up completely naked in a room made of mirrors after accepting a coffee laced with drugs.

In the vein of Story of O, Linda’s appetite for erotic adventure opens up as walls become transparent and she becomes the voyeur or the participant in a series of sexual vignettes with both a woman, Gloria, and two men, Dave and Joe, before they are released from the house to somehow come together again as a marketing team for a brand of women’s lotions at an agency in New York.

More sensual journeys occur as the girls discover their erotic urges amongst themselves once again, realizing the men who have hired them as a graphic designer and a copywriter are in fact Dave and Joe from the house of mirrors.

I suppose it is the erotic novel reader’s job to suspend disbelief. I ask myself, why would these people willingly come together and not call the police? Why do they not discuss the distressing aspect of their abduction? In fact, the four have dinner together.

Four excited people had to calm down enough to pretend interest in the wine and food. The discussion turned to the mystery of who had gone to the trouble of constructing the house of mirrors, why they of all people were chosen, and what was it all about.

When the ending is revealed, there are real incestual concerns, including a father remotely engineering his daughters have sexual experiences, sisters “self-loving” together, as the author calls it, and a back story about the girls’ mothers that also follows these lines, that didn’t sit well with me at all, and in a way I felt this had not been fully acknowledged by the writer in his quest for an unusual story, but maybe there’s a genre out there that is created for these kinds of fantasies. Personally, it’s not erotic to me to have family sex but then as I write, the genre of monster sex is taking off out there, so who am I to judge what erotic fiction readers want these days?

In the book’s blurb, Israel writes,

The House of Mirrors is the tale of a man who, himself free of societal restrictions on his sexual activities, devises a way to liberate his daughters from the societal boundaries imposed upon them. It is a joyful story that celebrates the sexual freedom that is the right of all of us.

There are also spelling errors in the book and publicity materials. “Copyrighter” instead of “copywriter” is used throughout. It’s a shame that there has been a misspelling of a word used several times in a 32-page story, but luckily he can go away and fix this easily.

However, this technicality can be overlooked, and Israel knows how to write erotic prose. He uses all the right synonyms to give his story flourish and interest, and has a strong imagination for this kind of fiction and obviously a penchant for submissive women. I should imagine he would do well to submit some of his work to gentleman’s magazines that publish this sort of story. Probably one for the Fifty Shades brigade.

Links
Amazon
Barnes & Noble